What hemisphere is Kenya?

Kenya has a latitude of 0.0236° S, and longitude of 37.9062° E. The GPS coordinates of Kenya show that the country is bisected by the equator. Approximately half of Kenya is in the northern hemisphere.

Is Kenya north or south of the equator?

Kenya is positioned on the equator on Africa’s east coast. Its northernmost and southernmost points are approximately equidistant–a little over 40 north and south of the equator.

Is Nairobi in the Southern Hemisphere?

Distance facts

Nairobi is 88.05 mi (141.70 km) south of the equator, so it is located in the southern hemisphere.

Is Kenya in the north or south?

Kenya lies astride the equator, extending from the Indian Ocean in the east to Uganda in the west and from the United Republic of Tanzania in the south to Ethiopia and Sudan in the north. On the east and north-east, it borders Somalia.

Is Kenya in South Africa?

Kenya, officially the Republic of Kenya (Swahili: Jamhuri ya Kenya), is a country in Eastern Africa. … As of 2020, Kenya is the third-largest economy in sub-Saharan Africa after Nigeria and South Africa.

What Coast is Kenya on?

Indian Ocean
The geography of Kenya is diverse, varying amongst Kenya’s 47 Counties. Kenya has a coastline on the Indian Ocean, which contains swamps of East African mangroves.

Geography of Kenya.
Continent Africa
• Land 98.07%
• Water 1.93%
Coastline 536 km (333 mi)
Borders 3,446 km (2,141 mi)

What continent is Kenya in?

Kenya, country in East Africa famed for its scenic landscapes and vast wildlife preserves. Its Indian Ocean coast provided historically important ports by which goods from Arabian and Asian traders have entered the continent for many centuries.

Where is Kenya in Africa?

East Africa
Kenya is located in East Africa. Its terrain rises from a low coastal plain on the Indian Ocean to mountains and plateaus at its center. Most Kenyans live in the highlands, where Nairobi, the capital, sits at an altitude of 5,500 feet (1,700 meters).

Is Africa a continent?

Africa/Is continent?

Is Kenya considered East Africa?

East African countries (19) – Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Eritrea, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Réunion, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Somaliland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Is South Africa a country?

The southernmost country of the African continent, South Africa is bordered by Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe and Eswatini. South Africa entirely surrounds Lesotho in the east. A large plateau dominates the centre of the country, with rolling hills falling to plains and the coast.

What is the capital of South Africa?

South Africa/Capitals
South Africa has three cities that serve as capitals: Pretoria (executive), Cape Town (legislative), and Bloemfontein (judicial).

Which country borders Kenya to the South West?

Geography of Kenya

Kenya borders Ethiopia and Sudan to the north, Somalia to the east, and Tanzania to the south. Kenya’s coastline meets the Indian Ocean to the south-east, while Uganda is the country’s neighbour to the west. The capital of Kenya is Nairobi.

Where is Southern East Africa?

It comprises the countries Botswana, Burundi, Eswatini, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Tanzania, South Africa, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe in the mainland, with the island-nations of Madagascar, Mauritius, Reunion, Comoros, and Mayotte also included.

Is South Africa in West Africa?

Southern Africa countries (5) – Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa, and Swaziland. … Western Africa (17) – Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte D’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.

Where in Kenya is the equator?

The Equator is the most important line of latitude. It is the middle latitude and is marked 0º. It divides the earth into the Northern and Southern hemisphere. In Kenya, the Equator passes through Timboroa, Nanyuki and Maseno.

Is Nairobi Kenya on the equator?

As Nairobi is situated close to the equator, the differences between the seasons are minimal.

Why is Kenya said to be in East Africa?

Due to colonial territories of the British East Africa Protectorate and German East Africa, the term East Africa is often (especially in the English language) used to specifically refer to the area now comprising the three countries of Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda.