Why can’t I chat in Google Docs?

Once two or more of you have access to a Google Docs document, you can start chatting. Chat only works if more than one person is active in the document. You can’t chat with someone if they’re not currently looking at the document. Instead, it’s better to leave comments.

What happened to the chat in Google Docs?

As many of you know, the current Docs Editors chat functionality is built on Google Talk, which we previously announced will be shutting down at the end of June. … There will be no in-app promotion; users will simply see the chat button below appear in Docs, Sheets, and Slides when collaborators are in the document.

Who can see chat in Google Doc?

The steps below will work across all three services. As the name suggests, editor chat can only be accessed by other Google Docs users if they’re able to edit the document. If they can only view the document, they won’t be able to access this built-in chat system.

How do I use Google chat?

Send a message to a person:
  1. Go to Google Chat or your Gmail account.
  2. On the left, under “Chat,” click the name of the person you want to message. If you can’t find their name, click Start a chat . Enter a name or email address. Suggestions appear as you enter text. …
  3. Enter a message.
  4. Click Send .

Where is the chat button in Google Slides?

To create a Chat inside Google Slides, you need to enable the Chat button inside the web app. For this, go to your Google Slides homepage and open the file that you want to chat inside. When the selected presentation opens, click on the ‘Share’ button at the top right corner.

Where is the chat in Google Sheets?

To tell if there are other people in the document at the same time as you, look to the left of the share button. Here you see all active collaborators’ profile pictures. Finally, you’re able to start chatting. The chat button appears on top of the profile picture stack in the upper right-hand corner.

How do I disable chat on Google Docs?

To turn off chat inside Docs, Sheets, and Slides:
  1. Sign in to your Google Admin console. …
  2. From the Admin console Home page, go to Apps Google Workspace. …
  3. Click Service Status.
  4. To apply the setting to everyone, leave the top organizational unit selected. …
  5. Select Both turned off.
  6. Click Save.